The Little Blog of the Angels

The path of the Angels that leads to Serenity

Love and Its Different Definitions

Posted by on

What types of love are there?

Love is a universal feeling that is especially celebrated in February, on Valentine’s Day. There are many types of love, and the ancient Greeks even defined eight types, but here we’ll explore the types of love that exist between two people who form a couple.

Self-love, or Philautia

Before you can truly love someone else, you need to learn to love yourself first; this is Philautia. This doesn’t mean you should be selfish or narcissistic, it means you should cultivate self-worth, you should feel confident about yourself, and you should believe in yourself.

Romantic Love, or Eros

Eros is the Greek god of love, and it defines the sexual attraction between two people, the romantic, physical love. As it is based on sexual desire and passion, Eros keeps the relationship alive and fresh.

Playful Love, or Ludus

In the early stages of a relationship it is normal to flirt, to seduce, or engage in a kind of playfulness. This is Ludus, and it also describes the feelings of butterflies in the stomach, or giddiness when the other person is present.

Affectionate Love, or Philia

Philia is mostly associated with the feeling of liking or being fond of someone. This kind of love does not include physical attraction and is often used to describe platonic love.

Enduring Love, or Pragma

When a relationship has had time to mature and develop, then that is Pragma. It is the kind of love that exists between two people that have been together for many years, that have nurtured their relationship, and watched their love grow.